top of page

7 Commonly known Chakra’s

Updated: Oct 22, 2023

The center of energy in one’s body is called a “chakra”, meaning “wheel” in Sanskrit. The origin of the word stems from how the energy spins from one energy center to the next, networking with the body’s physiological systems. In total, there are seven centers, located from the base of the spine to the crown of the head. Each plays a role in controlling emotions and the connection to one’s surroundings.

7 Chakras

Root Chakra

The root chakra is the first and is located at the base of the spine. It is responsible for energy associated with feeling grounded, and safe and represents characteristics of survival and one’s physical identity and is represented by the colour red.

When it becomes blocked, one may feel restless, co-dependent, and abandoned. To cure the blockage, many find relief by engaging in physical activities, such as walking, household chores, and exercise.

Sacral Chakra

The sacral chakra is associated with emotion, including creativity and sensuality, and is located in the lower belly. It relates to relationships, sensual pleasure, and the connection between the inner and outer worlds. It is represented by the colour orange.

An imbalance here may cause symptoms such as feeling numb to emotion, having little control over one’s emotions, and feeling stuck in one mood. It may be difficult to feel empathy and cope with change

. To cure the imbalance or blockage, many turns to healing methods that help in obtaining an emotional equilibrium, such as using certain essential oils and meditation.

Solar Plexus Chakra

The solar plexus chakra corresponds to willpower, forming one’s opinions and beliefs, personal identity, and decision-making. This is located just above the sacral chakra.

An imbalance may cause one to be excessively authoritative over others, misuse power, be manipulative, or feel a lack of purpose. Many find that meditation while visualizing fire or the colour yellow (this chakra’s colour) aids in healing. Wearing shades of yellow clothes or jewellery, as well as spending time in the sun and practicing yoga, are other examples of how to find balance.

Chakra chart

Heart Chakra

The heart chakra serves as a liaison between the earth and spirit and is located in the center of the chest. The main feelings correlating to the heart chakra include love, compassion, empathy, and acceptance.

Signs of a blockage may involve feelings of loneliness, social anxiety, and holding grudges. Similar to how you heal the solar plexus chakra, it is best to surround yourself with its colour, green, by either wearing green clothes or jewellery or surrounding yourself with green objects. As with all chakras, yoga, and meditation aid in healing as well.

Throat Chakra

Associated with the colour blue, the throat chakra is located at the center of the neck and is concerned with energy passing from the lower body to the head. Its function is to support the expression and communication of the individual. It creates feelings of purpose, the ability to express truth, and aids in verbal and non-verbal communication.

A blockage here may hinder one’s ability to recognize truth and refrain from communicating needs to others. A method of healing a blockage here involves getting in tune with one’s negative emotions; some find that crying helps relieve the blockage. Also, talking openly and honestly with others may help, along with practicing meditation and yoga.

Third Eye Chakra

The third eye chakra is located between the eyebrows and acts as the center for intuition and foresight. Characteristics encompass traits such as wisdom, creative and spiritual motivation, and vision. The colour that it is associated with, is indigo.

Some healing methods to treat an imbalance include meditation, energy healing, and eating foods such as eggplant, plums, blueberries, and kale.

Crown Chakra

The crown chakra allows one to experience a higher level of consciousness. It is associated with the colour purple and is located at the top of the head. Some of the behavioural characteristics include consciousness, bliss, presence, and realization.

A blockage may cause symptoms such as loneliness, lack of direction, and feeling spiritually disconnected. Healing may require meditation and a yoga practice specifically involving supported headstands and other inverted poses.

Largely, the imbalance, or “blockage”, of one or more chakras will reduce not only the quantity of the energy flowing through it but the quality of that energy also. It is essential to recognize when you have an imbalance and to practice the steps to heal the blockage, to experience a strong, healthy flow of energy throughout the body.

60 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page